Canadian provinces and territories maps

Provinces and Territories of Canada

Canada consists of ten provinces and three territories. Provinces are States that exist under the Canadian Constitution and has Supreme authority within its jurisdiction regardless of the Federal government. Canadian territory is an administrative unit administered by the Canadian Federal Parliament, ordinary law provides some powers of their local governments.

Map of Canada provinces

Map of the provinces of Canada and their capitals allows us to consider the city from the satellite. Selecting a province, you can learn more about the cities which it owns and maps of cities, and build routes between them, or to find distance.

10 provinces and capitals of Canada



Alberta is one of the three Prairie provinces. Another is called Energy Province. The fourth largest province is named after Princess Alberta (Princess Louse Caroline Alberta of Britain). The population of Alberta is about or a little over 3 million. The largest cities are Edmonton (capital) and Calgary (both population about 900,000). The population, mainly immigrants from the UK (44%), Germany, Ukraine, France, the Scandinavian countries, Holland.

British Columbia

The Pacific province is the westernmost and most mountainous province of Canada. It is home to more than 4 million inhabitants, most of whom live in the Vancouver area and in Victoria (the capital). Province of Canada began in 1871. In the North Yukon and the Northern territory, plus Alaska.


Manitoba received the status of a province of Canada in 1870. It is among the three “Prairie provinces”, located in the heart of Canada. Its relief is mainly flat. Known as the land of lakes. There are more than 100 000. The capital is Winnipeg 700,000 residents. The population of about 1 150 000. More than 40% of residents come from the UK.

New Brunswick

One of the four Maritime provinces of Canada, the largest and most “Western” among them. The population is about 800 000. The largest city Saint John — 125 000 inhabitants, followed by Fredericton (the capital) and Moncton.

Newfoundland and Labrador

The North-Eastern part of North America. Consists of two parts: the island of Newfoundland and mainland Labrador. The population of about 530 000. The youngest province of Canada since 1949.

Northwest Territories

The territory is North of Alberta and Saskatchewan, between the Yukon and Nunavut (North of the 60th parallel). Capital Yellowknife. The population of just over 41,000 people.

Nova Scotia

The Peninsula is surrounded by the Atlantic ocean, the Bay of Fundy, the Northumberland Strait and St. Lawrence. Nova Scotia is slightly less than its pre-image of Scotland, in whose honor and named. Water everywhere, and inside too — lakes, rivers. In the 17th century was inhabited (as Quebec and new Brunswick) by the French.


Date of birth 1 April 1999. The land of the Inuit (the indigenous inhabitants of Canada, the Canadian Eskimo). The capital Iqaluit is located on Baffin island, remote from Ottawa, on 2000 km and Population of over 29,000 people.


The lake district is the most popular for immigrants, the province of Canada. The second largest among all Canadian provinces (bigger than France and Spain combined) and the most densely populated. The distance from North to South = 1730 km. Population of over 12 million people. It is a political, financial, economic and cultural center of Canada.

Prince Edward Island

The island received this name in 1799 in honor of Prince Edward. A population of approximately 141 000 people. The capital Charlottown (in honor of Queen Charlotte). One of the four Atlantic provinces of Canada.


La belle Province — the biggest of all the provinces of Canada (1 667 926 sq. km, 3 times larger than France). Included in the 1 July 1867. Montreal is the second largest city in Canada. The center of European culture in North America. The Capital Is Quebec City. The only French-speaking province with a rich history over 400 years. Hundreds of rivers and a million lakes.


Capital Regina, i.e. the Queen, is named in honor of Queen Victoria. Is a province of Canada since 1905. A population of over a million. The largest city is Saskatoon, the center of industrial and agricultural production.


The Land of Midnight Sun is the Arctic circle. The population is about 30 000. Taiga, tundra, rivers and lakes. The average January temperature in the capital city of Whitehorse about minus 18 degrees Celsius (a record low of minus 52). The first settlers of Canada came here.